Our websites

West Nottinghamshire College Group operates a number of websites that support our growing business.

The Corporation

Posted: 22/06/12

Computer wizards rewarded at college

Students on computer science courses at West Nottinghamshire College were praised for their hard work and contribution over the last year at a celebration evening last night (21 June).

Certificates of achievement and trophies for excellence were presented to 25 learners on courses ranging from foundation level IT through to university-level foundation degrees in software development with multimedia and communication and networking technology.

Awards include the Robot Wars Trophy, the Excellence in Hardware and Software Trophy and Olympic medal awards for students on each of the seven courses delivered by the computer science department.

There were Olympic value awards for students who, throughout their studies, have lived up to the Olympic values of courage, determination, inspiration and equality.

Parents and friends joined students and tutors for the awards presentation and buffet and had the opportunity to view a showcase of students’ work in the Create building at the Derby Road campus.

Computer science curriculum manager Piers Ching said: “Every year our students reach new heights with learning new technologies in computer science. 

“We’re very proud to be able to offer our students the latest computer hardware and programming technology as well as the opportunity to create their own websites and develop the creative skills that are required in the computing and digital industries.

“Not only are we praising students for their commitment to their studies, we’re also rewarding them for displaying great personal attributes which are reflected in this summer’s Olympic values.”

Caption 1 – computer science award winners celebrate together

Caption 2 – (l-r) back row - Darren Bailey – courage award winner, Ashley Bradbury – equality award winner, Charlie Kyriacou – international personality award winner, front row Caroline Hunt – determination award winner, Nathan Edge – inspiration award winner